top of page

The  Real Play City challenge Jury has three rounds. The first round is a technical committee. The second round, a Nomination jury consisting of five experts in child-friendly, safe and playful urban practice. Finally, the third round, the Winners Jury panel consists of six renowned global city leaders.


Nomination jury members: 

  • Sara Candiracci

  • Mark Ojal

  • Hannah Wright

  • Jens Aerts

  • Helen Hadani

Chair: Viviana Cordero

Winners jury members: 

  • Cecilia Vaca Jones

  • Norliza Hashim

  • Bo Stjerne Thomsen

  • Louise Thivant-Johannsen

  • Alice Charles

  • Lauren Sorkin

Chair: Ethan Kent

Photo credit: Omar Aboutaleb

Winners jury

Chair: Ethan Kent - PlacemakingX

Cecilia Vaca Jones

Executive Director of Bernard van Leer Foundation

Norliza Hashim

Chief Executive of Urbanice Malaysia

Bo Stjerne Thomsen

Vice-President and Chair of Learning through Play at the LEGO Foundation

Lousie Thivant-Johannsen

Child-Friendly Cities Initiative (CFCI) Advisor and Child Participation Specialist, UNICEF

Alice Charles

Project Lead of Cities, Infrastructure and Urban Services Platform, World Economic Forum Geneva 

Lauren Sorkin

Executive Director of Global Resilient Cities Network

Nomination jury

Chair: Viviana Cordero - Huasipichanga

Jens Aerts

Dr. Helen Hadani

Sara Candirracci

Senior Urban Planner and Associate Partner at BUUR

Mark Ojal

Associate Director in the International Development group and member of the Leadership Team of Arup

Hannah Wright

Fellow at the Brookings Institution

Urban Designer and Placemaking Expert at 


Urban Planner & Integrator and leader at PlacemakingX

RPC logo and elements-16.png
bottom of page